Sunday, 10/19 | League + more news

Hey all,
We will have the league at the Elks this Sunday 10/19 from 2-4pm as usual.
Sorry for the mix-up last week, it seems that one of the Elks forgot to open up for us. I do have some phone numbers now to call if that happens again.

On a new note, I have been working with Matt’s Cavalcade of Comics to set up a Competitive Pokemon Night and I think we found a good time. We will be hosting this on Thursdays starting at 5pm in the backroom of Matt’s (2075 NW Buchanan Ave) and going until at least 7pm if not later. This is not affiliated with the Sunday Official Pokemon League. I still encourage you to come to the Sunday league as well.

The main reason I wanted to start this other night up was for competitive players (like myself) who want to play-test for upcoming tournaments. The night will mainly be just playing games and talking strategy. If anyone wants to play competitively and/or is considering attending sanctioned tournaments this year I would encourage you to come. If you have any questions feel free to ask me through email or at Sunday league.

Also, another regional tournament happened last weekend in Houston, TX and the deck to make the biggest splash was Donphan! Day 1 saw 4 of the top 5 decks playing Donphan and friends (lists may differ on the “friends”, if you want some example deck lists I can provide some). There was still plenty of Seismitoad EX in the top 32 paired both with Pyroar and Yveltal EX. Virizion EX/Genesect EX also made a strong showing on both Day 1 and Day 2 where is took 3 of the top 4 spots on Day 2 (eventually winning the tournament for Sam Chen).

You can check out the results here (scroll down to Houston, TX):
http://thetopcut.net/2014/10/06/2014-15-autumn-regional-results/

This coming weekend are the West Coast regional tournaments located in Vancouver BC and San Jose, CA. Unfortunately I cannot make either of these due to time and distance. However, if anyone else is going to these: GOOD LUCK! Let me know how it goes.

Thanks and see you all on Sunday! Tim

